Video Saturday – The Faces

One of the last tunes they recorded together and already without Ronnie Lane who was living in a caravan in a god forsaken valley on the Welsh borders, making plans for world domination which ultimately were to be thwarted by a lack of reliable transport.

The best thing about 1973 was that you could easily follow the fashions without it costing you too much, why, even a person such as myself could cut his own hair in the bathroom in the style favoured by messrs Stewart and Wood, and I did, in fact, whilst they probably paid some fancy-dan hairstylist lots of money to create that look, I did it for myself standing in front of the bathroom mirror with my mothers big “Pinking shears”, the ones that she used to cut cloth with that had a jagged-edged cut, like cutting cloth with a crocodile jaw – and I have to say, the results were most impressive, “Why you must tell us” my friends and even complete strangers in the street would say, “how do you get every hair on your head to be cut to a completely different length ?”

The pinking shears and three or four cans of my mothers Harmony Hairspray (she could never understand why each can only seemed to last a matter of hours after she’d purchased each one) would do the trick, an old waistcoat of my dads, some huge Yorker flares or a pair of Oxford bags, platform shoes and I was the dogs danglers around Headingley.

Just a few years ago we were invited to a 1970s theme fancy dress party and so the current wife and I took ourselves off to a fancy dress hire shop where everyone seemed to think that a theme of “1970’s” meant a Saturday Night Fever or Disco Inferno look – absolute cobblers, I chose the 1973 look of my youth using the shops Tina Turner wig, a “Pirate style” flouncy shirt and some incredibly wide flares – the young shop assistant, and it has to be said, my wife, absolutely pissed themselves laughing when I walked out of the changing cubicle, I was distraught, “This is not fancy dress” I yelled at them, “this is how I always used to look…” before flouncing off up the street leaving behind a strong hint of Brut.

One thought on “Video Saturday – The Faces

  1. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth used
    to be a enjoyment account it. Look complex to more added agreeable from
    you! By the way, how could we keep in touch?

Leave a Reply

