The hardest bit is photographing the bloody thing

A4 sized, acrylic on canvas textured primed paper

You see, the problem is not painting the picture, its the photographing of it afterwards when you want to list it on a gallery web site.

The actual painting doesn’t look anything like the photograph above, its much darker (deliberately), the greens are much duller apart from the green highlight strip in the middle – if I advertised this one and someone bought it they would send it back thinking that I’ve sent the wrong painting.

Truth is that its my photography technique that is crap, I’ve tried everything but really, its me.

The camera is a Fuji S7000, at the time it was the best spec’d digital SLR style camera with a fixed lens that you could buy without having to tout yourself to weddings and family groups in order to pay for the second mortgage on your camera equipment, so I can’t blame the camera.

I use it purely for point-and-shoot in full auto mode and so I assume that the folk at Fuji have set all of the auto setting correctly – I shoot the paintings in daylight without artificial light or flash which would affect the colour and still it goes wrong.

I hesitate to adjust the photos using software as again I consider that cheating in a retail environment and yet when the original photo comes out looking nothing like the painting then you have no choice, a photography neighbour has volunteered his assistance and as this one has come out looking so different then I think I’ll hand it over to him – the image above is as it came out of my camera, I’ll post the results from his professional equipment shortly.

3 thoughts on “The hardest bit is photographing the bloody thing

  1. Yeah, photographing the finished item is really tough. I used a professional lighting technique with diffused lighting etc and it was worse than just sticking it obliquely near a window! My phone’s nearly as good image wise as the SLR. Good painting though 🙂

  2. The bad news is – scanning makes it even worse, I don’t think its possible to get a mechanical / electronic instrument to copy exactly what the human eye sees>

    On the other hand, how do I know that what my eyes see is actually what is on the paper or that what I am seeing is the same as what you are seeing ?

    This is getting too heavy…

  3. Well the good news is what you see, whether on paper, scan, screen or screen, is what you see as you perceive it to be.
    The really interesting thing is there is some scientific evidence to suggest that what we see isn’t necessarily the same as what others see, and that we all see the world slightly differently.
    Perhaps that’s why people like our work sometimes, because we’ve highlighted something we see that others don’t see so well.
    Pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

